Official Athletics site of the

Anne-Christine Tompkins helped USF with a pair of wins on Thursday.
Anne-Christine Tompkins helped USF with a pair of wins on Thursday.
Fighting Saints
Calumet College of St. Joseph
Women's Tennis - Thu, Apr. 17, 2014

WHITING, Ind. --- The University of St. Francis women's tennis team sealed up the No. 3 seed in next week's seven-team Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference Tournament by notching a 9-0 league victory over Calumet College of St. Joseph on Thursday afternoon.

Each of USF's top four players scored a pair of wins on the day in seniors Princess Clemente (Tinley Park, Ill./ Andrew), Anne-Christine Tompkins (New Lenox, Ill./ Lincoln-Way Central) and Leah Fuessel (Mokena, Ill./ Lincoln-Way East) and sophomore Danielle Hoffman (Tinley Park, Ill./ Andrew).

Clemente and Tompkins won 8-2 at No. 1 doubles before peeling off for separate 6-4, 6-3 and 6-1, 6-1 victories at Nos. 1 and 3 singles, respectively.  Fuessel and Hoffman recorded similar results starting with an 8-3 win at No. 2 doubles.  Hoffman then went on give up just one game in singles action with her 6-0, 6-1 win at the No. 2 spot, while Fuessel collected a 7-5, 6-2 victory at No. 4 singles.

Sophomore Ewelina Szwed (Romeoville, Ill./ Romeoville) added a 6-0, 6-0 win at No. 5 singles.

USF's two other wins – at No. 6 singles and No. 3 doubles – were won by default.

The Saints (11-9, 4-2) wrap up regular season play on Saturday morning when they face Purdue University Calumet at 11:30 a.m. at the Joliet West Tennis Courts.

Singles competition
1. Princess Clemente (USF) def. Carolina Monterrubio (CCSJ) 6-4, 6-3
2. Danielle Hoffman (USF) def. Leticia Monteiro (CCSJ) 6-0, 6-1
3. Anne-Chris. Tompkins (USF) def. Mariana Portela (CCSJ) 6-1, 6-1
4. Leah Fuessel (USF) def. Paula Nieto (CCSJ) 7-5, 6-2
5. Ewelina Szwed (USF) def. Samantha Castellanos (CCSJ) 6-0, 6-0
6. Ashley Golda (USF) def. No player (CCSJ), by default

Doubles competition
1. Princess Clemente/Anne-Chris. Tompkins (USF) def. Leticia Monteiro/Carolina Monterrubio (CCSJ) 8-2
2. Leah Fuessel/Danielle Hoffman (USF) def. Paula Nieto/Mariana Portela (CCSJ) 8-3
3. Ewelina Szwed/Devan Trueba (USF) def. No player/No player (CCSJ), by default